Peppermint Hot Chocolate Cupcakes, A Guest Post by Java Cupcake

I feel quite confident that the majority of you out there know of, and love Betsy of Java Cupcake. She is a long time internet friend that just keeps getting cooler and cooler.

I was SO excited when she said she would be willing to do a guest post for me. You see I want to share a few of my favorite bloggers with my favorite readers. Besty is the first up. I KNOW you will love her as much as I do and Peppermint Hot Chocolate Cupcakes??! SHUT the front door!!

So, without further ado….Heeeeeeeerrrrre’s Betsy!!

Hello Fields of Cake Fans!

I was so honored when Carrie asked me to write a guest post for her blog that I jumped on the chance to participate!  Of course that meant I had to come up with something fabulous… which isn’t too difficult these days, I’ve been full of inspiration with the holidays here!

Before I get to the recipe, let me introduce myself and tell you some about me!  My name is Betsy Eves and I am owner of the blog JavaCupcake where, since 2009, I’ve been sharing my adventures in baking everything from cookies and cupcakes to breads and sometimes dinners! I love being in the kitchen and sharing my creations with all my fabulous readers!  Occasionally, you’ll even find a review of a cupcake shop on my blog or my adventures in cupcakes around the world.  Speaking of around the world, my family and I moved to Germany in March of 2011 and are LOVING living this European lifestyle. Our daughter, Emily who is 12, is excited to become a big sister in March 2012… her baby brother, Matthew, will be arriving then!  And lastly, I am also a correspondent for the world famous cupcake blog, Cupcakes Take the Cake.  There you can find all kinds of posts by me all about cupcakes!

Where else can you find me?  Well… you can find my blog here, I’m on Facebook here and on Twitter here!

Now… on to the cupcakes!

Recently, I’ve been making the switch from coffee to hot chocolate.  My local grocery store had a supply of Ghirardelli Peppermint Hot Cocoa packets so I picked up a few and have been hooked ever since.  The nights here in Germany are getting so cold and this hot chocolate sure does the trick to warm me up.  So, what better than a peppermint hot chocolate cupcake for a cold winter day!  This cupcake is a moist, fluffy peppermint chocolate cupcake with a Hershey’s Peppermint Kiss hidden inside.  On top is a peppermint marshmallow frosting garnished with mini marshmallows, mini chocolate chips and crushed peppermint candies.  It’s a perfect combo of peppermint and chocolate!

Before I go… one last super special THANK YOU to Carrie for invited me to her blog!  Over the last few years Carrie and I have become such great “online” friends.  She is truly an amazing baker, mother and friend and I feel so blessed to have her in my life!  I only wish we lived closer!  It’s my ultimate dream that someday… all my favorite bloggy friends, including Carrie, will be in the same room together… bake together… laugh together… and share their love of all that is good together.

Now… go make these cupcakes!

Love,

Betsy

Peppermint Hot Chocolate Cupcakes

Makes 2 dozen+ cupcakes

 

  • 1 3/4 cups flour
  • 3/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp espresso powder
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs, room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon peppermint extract
  • 1 cup buttermilk or sour milk*1 cup peppermint hot chocolate
  • Hershey’s Peppermint Kiss candies

*to make sour milk, add 1 tbsp white vinegar to 1 cup of milk and let stand for at least 5 minutes.

Directions:

1.      Preheat oven to 350 F degrees.  Line cupcake pan with liners.

2.      Place one unwrapped peppermint Kiss in the bottom, center of each liner.

3.      In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt and espresso powder.

4.      In a large bowl, whisk together the sugar and oil until combined.

5.      Add the eggs and whisk until smooth.

6.      Pour in the buttermilk or sour milk along with the peppermint extract and whisk until combined.  Make sure to scrape the sides and bottom of the bowl to ensure everything is incorporated.

7.      In three parts, whisk in the flour to the wet mixture.  Between each addition add half the hot chocolate.  Scrape the sides of the bowl and stir only until combined.

8.      Fill cupcake liners 2/3 full with batter.   Do not overfill!

9.      Bake 18-20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

10.  Cool in pans for 3 minutes then remove to a wire rack to cool completely.

Marshmallow Frosting

Makes enough to frost 18 cupcakes

  • 1 1/3 cup unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 7 oz of marshmallow cream (1 jar)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp peppermint extract
  • 2 2/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp of heavy cream (if needed)
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  •  mini marshmallows
  • mini chocolate chips
  • crushed peppermint candies or a mini candy cane

Directions:

1.      Using a stand mixer with a paddle attachment, cream together the butter and marshmallow fluff until smooth.

2.      Mix in the vanilla and peppermint extract.

3.      In three parts, add the powdered sugar and mix until smooth.  Make sure to scrape the sides/bottom of the bowl frequently.

4.      If necessary, add cream until you reach your desired consistency.

5.      Add salt and mix on high for 1-2 minutes until color whitens and frosting is fluffy.

Cupcake Assembly

1.      Pipe a dollop of marshmallow frosting on to each cupcake.

2.      Top with 5-6 mini marshmallows, mini chocolate chips and crushed peppermint candies.

**It’s me again, Carrie. Isn’t she AWESOME?! I know you will be seeing more of her in the future…whether it be on her amazing blog or here at Fields of Cake.

Be good sweet readers. But not too good. That’s boring 😉

10 thoughts on “Peppermint Hot Chocolate Cupcakes, A Guest Post by Java Cupcake

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Pumpkin Ganache, a guest post by Christina Arpante from Mele Cotte | Fields of Cake and Other Good Stuff

  2. I can’t wait to make these! I see 1C peppermint hot choc in the ingredients but it doesn’t say where to use it in the recipe. Can you clarify?

      • I found the place where you add the hot chocolate. It’s in half cups as you mix the flour into wet. I would guess it’s a cup of prepared liquid hot chocolate but let us know for sure. Thanks for looking into it!

  3. I made these for a couples dinner tonight and they were a hit! Thanks for the great recipe Betsy!
    PS, I made it with 1 cup prepared hot chocolate.

Leave a comment